Mark Pope by the Numbers

BYU Cougars on the court.
byufan4ever
Heisman Winner
Fan Level: BYU Fanatic
Prediction Group: CougarCorner

Mark Pope by the Numbers

Post by byufan4ever »

I love to analyze data and trends. It's what I do for a living. With sports it's easy to get passionate and to give too much credit or too much blame with knee jerk reactions. How has Pope faired in his 3+ seasons?

First, I want to take a look back on his predecessor Dave Rose. In 14 seasons he reached the NCAA Tournament 8 times (including 6 times in a row!), the NIT 5 times, and no tournament in his last season. Rose won 4 MWC regular season titles although no conference tournament titles and no titles in the WCC (getting only 2nd in the regular season twice).

2019-2020 Season
BYU went 24-8 and 13-3 in conference play for 2nd place. They would have been a virtual lock as an at-large if they didn't win the conference tournament. I believe that they were #9 in the NET rankings when Covid hit and everyone got scared and cancelled sports. I was at the game when BYU beat Gonzaga at home. One of my greatest sporting moments that I've attended live. The atmosphere in the Marriott Center was amazing.

This team for sure looked like it was on it's way to at least an Elite Eight run and many had them as a dark horse candidate for a Final Four appearance. The one possible setback was that Barcello was injured, I believe it was his hand and was supposed to be out about two weeks. So maybe he misses the conference tournament and the first week of the NCAA tournament. Maybe he's back for the Elite 8 game. He was only a role player at this point, but still a very good shooter.

Season Grade: A. If he gets to the Elite Eight make this an A+. Pope started off on a very strong foot.

Recruits. Coaching is two parts. (1) Coaching the players on the court and getting wins and (2) recruiting the best possible players and coaching them up. Who were the new players that Pope brought in?