My Experience with Ute Fans

BYU Cougars Football. Still Open, now Independent.
byufan4ever
Heisman Winner
Fan Level: BYU Fanatic
Prediction Group: CougarCorner

My Experience with Ute Fans

Post by byufan4ever »

I haven't lived in Utah for 50 years, 10 years, or even 5 years. This is my first year in Utah. This is my experience so far.

I live in Tooele County and work in SLC right by the airport. There are a lot of Ute fans. Everybody knows I'm a BYU fan. I have not received harassment by a single Ute fan. In fact, the ones I come across have been very nice to me and hard workers.

My first day at work I was one of the last ones left at the office and I couldn't figure out how to connect to the network printer. A Ute fan helped me out.

One of the guys who trained me on my position is an excellent worker, very smart, and always helps when I have questions. He's a big Ute fan.

The guy that sits right across from me is a huuge Ute fan. Doesn't like BYU and the honor code. After the rivalry game I went through all of Monday without him or anyone saying anything to me about the game. Finally on Tuesday afternoon I approached him and asked why he hadn't rubbed it in yet. "I'm not like that."

A guy I eat lunch with is a Ute fan. But, with the exception of the rivalry game, he enjoys watching BYU play and roots for them.

I wear my BYU hat and gear all over Tooele and SLC and never once has anyone said anything mean to me. And I have a proud dad moment: last week when my son went to Children's Hospital at the U (for a checkup on his congenital heart disease) he wore his BYU Cougars shirt and the staff said how brave he was and no one made him feel bad for wearing it.

So please forgive me when I roll my eyes when some of you talk about how bad and evil the U is and all of their fans. No, I do not agree with Max Hall. Yes, I said I don't agree with Max Hall but I still consider myself a die hard BYU fan.